One of Virginia's finest Federal town houses was built for one of the city's most prominent merchants. The house set a new standard for urban sophistication in post-Revolutionary Norfolk, and its location beyond the limits of
As the city's first Jewish citizens, Moses and Eliza Myers encountered little prejudice from their Protestant neighbors, and they emerged as leading taste makers in Norfolk society. Their house was a showcase for the latest American, English, and French fashions, represented most notably by the Adamesque plaster ceiling in the passage. Some furniture was custom made for the house, including the sideboards in the dining room and the window seats in the front parlor. Portraits of Moses and Eliza by Gilbert Stuart hang in the latter room. The house remained in the possession of the Myers family until 1931, when it and its furnishings were sold to the Colonial House Corporation for conversion to a museum. The city assumed ownership of the property in 1951, and the house was restored to its late eighteenth-century appearance in 1960–1962. It is now operated as a historic house by the Chrysler Museum of Art.