When construction of the Twin Falls park began, several early structures on the property were scheduled to be demolished. As one of them, the Belcher House (c. 1835), was being dismantled, it was found that the frame siding disguised a log core. Because several nearby subsidiary structures were also of log construction, it was decided to reconstruct them on their present site to replicate a generic, earlynineteenth-century homestead. The effort succeeded admirably.
The one-and-one-half-story dovetailed log house has a massive stone chimney, front and side porches supported by round posts, and a shed-roofed, board-and-batten rear wing. Perfectly sited on a gentle slope in a vale, the house shares its paling-fenced clearing with a log stable, shed, smokehouse, and well. A rocking chair on the porch and chickens scratching in the yard complete the picturesque image of a pioneer West Virginia homestead.