You are here
Smithfield Historical Society (Elisha Smith House, known as the Smith–Appleby House)
Elisha Smith built his house as a saltbox, two stories in front, one behind. The roof was raised around 1750 to make a two-and-one-half-story block, and an ell was added. The “house” we see on arrival is really the house-sized ell, a full two and one-half stories in height and the equivalent of five bays in length. Instead of discreetly projecting from the side or rear of the original house, this insubordinate addition butts headlong into one end of the south-facing front, making an L of the total mass. So we must circle the addition and enter the space made by the arms of the L in order to reach what is still the principal entrance. Although
Other minor accretions further complicate the amplitude of the house. The end result (despite its good repair) is the kind of old-manse picturesque which nineteenth-century writers like Nathaniel Hawthorne savored: gently sagging clapboarded masses with varied roof slants, tilted chimneys, and smallish, multi-paned windows scattered about, on the verge of fixing on some simple, ordered arrangement, which then falls off toward functional randomness. In short, the setting has possibilities for the ambiguities in which legend flourishes: overall a surface of feckless simplicity, with a touch of grandeur in the would-be formality of the front, frustrated by the functional vernacularism which extended the house. Above all, there is a sense of generation, as much in conflict as in harmony.
The same fascinating mix of periods and intentions occurs within. The keeping room shows the heavy framing of the 1713 house, its original beaded vertical planking of wide boards never painted. Upstairs, the bedrooms show a collection of fireplace moldings of the 1750s, and the southwest chamber has a marbleized painted floor of the same time. The northeast chamber is stenciled with an alternating pattern of weeping willows and flowers climbing the plaster wall between rope moldings—Federal motifs, perhaps of the same date as the front door. More of this rare stenciling appears faintly in the tight, boxed stair of 1713.
A forge operated here from around 1750 until the 1840s, and a later sawmill into the early 1870s. Early on, an Appleby married a Smith daughter, and, as their descendents continued to occupy the house for generations (until 1959), it gradually acquired its present name.
The railroad station on the grounds is a former Providence & Springfield depot built after 1867 and moved here from Capron Road. It is a minimal example of its type: a gabled box sided in vertical boarding, plainly bracketed with diagonal bracing on either side and radiating strutwork in the gabled ends. Hard by, and elevated on a high embankment, Interstate 295 shatters the seclusion—a memorial to a time when highwaymen brooked little interference from preservationists, and getting there was all the fun.
If SAH Archipedia has been useful to you, please consider supporting it.
SAH Archipedia tells the story of the United States through its buildings, landscapes, and cities. This freely available resource empowers the public with authoritative knowledge that deepens their understanding and appreciation of the built environment. But the Society of Architectural Historians, which created SAH Archipedia with University of Virginia Press, needs your support to maintain the high-caliber research, writing, photography, cartography, editing, design, and programming that make SAH Archipedia a trusted online resource available to all who value the history of place, heritage tourism, and learning.