The construction of the 150,000-square-foot Torgersen Hall (2000, Esocoff and Associates and SFCS) marked a return to Tech's iconic Gothic Revival using rock-faced limestone with cut limestone trim. This long four-story building houses computer labs and multimedia classrooms. Torgersen's reading room with its handsome vaulted ceiling forms a bridge across Alumni Mall connecting to the Carol M. Newman Library (1955, Carneal and Johnston). The rectilinear six-story library received a dramatic sweeping curved addition in 1980 by Venturi and Rauch of Philadelphia with VVKR, Inc. Above the building's recessed lower floor, the five upper stories have horizontal bands of windows.
At the northeastern end of the Drillfield and centered on Togersen Hall's bridge, the War Memorial Chapel (1951–1960) has an open upper court framed by eight sculpted pylons, each representing a different virtue. On the pylons are inscribed the names of Tech's alumni killed in battle. The lower court, looking out onto the Drillfield, has a small stone chapel with arched double doors leading into the 350-seat interior.