Fred Stone used the YMCA's variety of program spaces to give the building a picturesque profile and a distinctly urban presence along Calder Avenue, which had been Beaumont's grand avenue at the turn of the twentieth century. The two-story street front steps up at either end to three and four stories to frame an interior courtyard. A five-story tower rises from the back of the building. A mixed blend of gray and orange brick animates the exterior walls. A rehabilitation of the YMCA (1997) by Beaumont architects Gordy and Huffhines restored the original casement window designs.
Today Calder possesses little evidence of its grand avenue past despite the presence of other institutional landmarks, such as St. Mark's Episcopal Church (1942) by Houston architect William Ward Watkin with Stone and Pitts at 670 Calder. St. Mark's parish house, which abuts Calder, dates from 1915 and was designed by Cram and Ferguson of Boston.